Print Page   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Request an Account
Site Search
Sign In

Forgot your password?

Haven't registered yet?

Latest News
Latest News: Kansas and Missouri Credit Unions

Educational Credit Union Awards Annual Scholarship

Friday, April 12, 2013   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Susan Dyer
Share |

Contact: Dan Wiggs
Phone: (785) 271-6900

Topeka, Kan. - Educational Credit Union awarded Jennifer McNary with the Diane Wright Memorial Scholarship at its 73rd Annual Meeting on Tuesday, April 9th. Jennifer, a senior at Hayden High School, will receive a $500 per semester renewable scholarship to pursue a degree in Education at Emporia State University this fall.

Jennifer McNary was selected because of her drive to be an educator, desire to better her community, and her remarkable academic accomplishments, both in the classroom and through extracurricular activities.

To be eligible for the ECU Diane Wright Memorial Scholarship, a student must be a high-school senior with a GPA of 3.00 or higher, plan to attend a four-year university to pursue a degree in education, and at least one family member must be a member of Educational Credit Union.  Students also have to submit a hand written essay showcasing the contribution they want to make as an educator.

Application and criteria for the 2014 Diane Wright Memorial Scholarship will be available after October 1, 2013, at

The Diane Wright Memorial Scholarship is a $500 per semester renewable scholarship, for a maximum of $4,000, awarded annually to a post-secondary student studying for a career in the field of education. Named after a loyal ECU member and dedicated volunteer, Diane Wright was a life-long student; she earned her BA and MA in Education from Washburn University and went on to earn her PhD in Gifted Education from Kansas State University at the age of 67.

Educational Credit Union is one of the oldest credit unions in Kansas, dating to 1939. ECU has over 21,000 member/owners and $180 million in total assets.