Print Page   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Request an Account
Site Search
Sign In

Forgot your password?

Haven't registered yet?

Latest News
CUNA Recognition Awards
Share |

The deadline has passed for the 2015 CUNA Awards.

Congratulations to Credit Union of America and TECU Credit Union for placing first in the state awards. Their entries will be forwarded on to compete at a national level.

Credit unions are known for their service to their communities and dedication to financial literacy. Be recognized for your efforts!

Let's show legislators, consumers and our communities that credit unions are a smarter choice.

View Past Winners.

Questions? Susan Dyer, (800) 362-2076, ext. 3047.

Award entries will be judged by another state credit union league.


CUNA's National Award programs are designed to encourage and recognize distinguished credit unions which demonstrate social responsibility (the Dora Maxwell Award), the credit union philosophy (the Louise Herring Award), and financial education (the Desjardins Awards).

The Awards

The Dora Maxwell Award is given to a credit union or chapter for its social responsibility projects within the community. (The award is given for external activities)

The Louise Herring Award is given to a credit union for its practical application of the credit union philosophy within the actual operation of the credit union. (The award is given for internal programs and services that benefit membership.)

The Desjardins Youth Award includes all activities to teach personal finance to youth (under 18).

The Desjardins Adult Award includes all activities to teach personal finance to adults (over 18).

What's the difference between the awards? Download the award differentiation chart.

Past Kansas winners:

Emporia State Federal Credit Union
2014 Desjardins Youth Education Award, First Place
Recognized for their efforts teaching local students from kindergarten to high school the importance of financial literacy through interactive sessions, field trips to the credit union and hands-on educational sessions.

Kansas State University Federal Credit Union
2014 Dora Maxwell Social Responsibility Community Service Award, First Place
For their work in support of the Flint Hills Community Clinic. The credit union raised nearly $17,000 for the clinic through a partnership with Kansas State University Athletics, as well as from promotions for credit union members and credit union staff.

Educational Credit Union
2012 Desjardins Youth Financial Education Award ($150-500 mil), First Place, Kansas
Developed a Junior Advisory Board that help with marketing efforts, being a credit union advocate, and teaching financial literacy to local high school classes, reaching more than 250 students through 10 classes. 

Credit Union of America

2012 Desjardins Youth Financial Education Award ($150-500 mil), Honorable Mention, Kansas
Outstanding youth financial literacy efforts including sponsorship with local band for financial literacy concerts.

Mid American Credit Union
2011 Desjardins Youth Financial Education Award ($150-500 mil), First Place, Kansas.
Recognized for teaching a financial literacy course as part of a summer youth program in two of Wichita’s most culturally diverse and economically disadvantaged neighborhoods.

Sunflower U.P. Federal Credit Union
2010 Desjardins Youth Financial Literacy Award, Honorable Mention, National.
They have done excellent work and made a significant impact with their Save @ School program.